There is one college named Panskura Banamali College. There are three Higher Secondary Schools. Four Secondary Schools, Twenty two Primary Schools and eleven Sishu Siksha Kendra. Total Literature male Population: 17,247 (67%) (According to 2001 Census). Total literate female Population:- 6905 (28.05 %) (According to 2001 Census).

Health Care Facilities

Till today eight health sub centers are running smoothly but most of the people are dependent on Uttar echogram BPHC. This is now situated at Uttar Mechogram under Panskura -1 Panchyats Samiti. At the same time eight Nursing homes and six Diagnostic centers are also running in the Municipality.

Linkage of Road, Rails & Others

The South Eastern Railway line situated over 1, 7, 6 & 17no. wards.
The National Highway 6 is spread across the municipality ward no.3, 5 & 4.
The Ghatal – Panskura road is spread across the municipality ward no. 2 & 7.
The Tamluk-Panskura Road is spread across the municipality ward no. 8, 9,10,11,12 & 16.


Panskura consists two assembly constitutions. Panskura East & Panskura West assembly constitutions. Panskura west is part of Panskura (Lok Sabha constituency), where Panskura east is part of Tamluk (Lok Sabha constituency).
Current MLA from Panskura West assembly constituency is Chittaranjan Dasthakur of CPI, who won the seat in state election of 2006. This was the third successive win for him as he won the election of 2001 and 1996 also. Omar Ali of CPI had won this seat in 1991, 1987, and 1982 and in 1977.
Current MLA from Panskura East assembly constituency is Amiya Kumar Sahu of CPI (M), who won the seat in state election of 2006. Biplab Roychoudhury was MLA from this seat in 2001 as AITC candidate and in 1996 as INC Candidate. Sisir Sarkar CPI (M), had won this seat in 1991. Sibram Basu of CPI (M) had won it in 1987. Swadesh Ranjan Majhi was MLA from this constituency in 1982 as independent candidate and JNP candidate in 1977.